Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    My Bikes
    1990 Trek 1500; 2006 Gary Fisher Marlin; 2011 Cannondale Synapse Alloy 105; 2012 Catrike Trail
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Road bike opinions, please.

Now that I've found some reasonably priced health insurance, and once more have disposable income because of it, I'm going to be in the market for the "reward" bike I promised myself a year ago for when I broke 200 pounds. I don't have as much to spend as I'd like (who among us does?), so I've reigned in my budget to aluminum models with primarily 105 components. I'm OK with that, as I've been riding an aluminum road bike for 21 years now and I have no complaints other than it's now too large for me, and I'm friggin' tired of downtube shifters. And today's 105 has surely got to be at least the equal of the 21 year old Shimano 600 group I've been using, the ancestor of today's Ultegra.

So I'm looking for input on any or all of the following models. All are readily available here in my market. One model is all 105, but the others substitute Tektro or other brakes to maintain their price point. In addition to these, I'd be happy to entertain other suggestions as well.

The price leader, in terms of features and components seems to be the Raleigh Revenio 3.0. It's the one that has 105 brakes, and still manages to be a hundred or more less than the others in price.

In no particular order, the others are:

Bianchi Via Nirone 7 105

Trek 2.1

Jamis Ventura Race

Felt Z85

Scott Speedster S20

Cannondale Synapse Alloy 5 105

And the Giant Defy 1

Anyone have any first-hand experience with any of these bikes?
    Craig in Indy

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)