Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Thread: Shoes

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Shoes

Though I've been riding for over 30 years, I still consider myself a novice having just updated to a better cycle, CAAD 9, which I like very much.
    But I'm tired of Toe clip pedals and would like to get Road shoes and pedals.
    My LBS (which I've become somewhat distrusting of late) appears to gear towards $2500 and up bikes and their owners.
    My feets is big (US 14).
    I'm looking for suggestions of where to look online and what I should expect to spend.

My Bikes
    Specialized Roubaix - Look 566 - Jamis Coda Elite
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's something that you have to try on and what's comfortable to you. A lot of people like Sidi shoes, but I personally like the Specialized shoes, because they have more of a box toe and feel much better to me, than the Sidi do. I do have both.
    George

My Bikes
    Simoncini, Gary Fisher, Specialized Tarmac
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a very "normal" foot and so I have been able to get away with shoes that have been on sale. I have only had two pair my entire clipless life of 15 years. For me - what ever is on sale works. Pedals though - Speedplays, just love them.
    "Of all the things I ever lost I miss my mind the most." Mark Twain
    If all you have is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

My Bikes
    Specialized Allez, Specialized Sirrus
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need to decide what kind of clipless pedals you want to use. I have Look KEOs on my road bike - the shoes are typical Road shoes with hard soles that take some getting used to in order to walk more than a couple of feet. I have cleat covers for when I need to walk in them so the cleats don't get worn down.