Thread: n+1=n; n>1

My Bikes
    Giant Propel, Cervelo P2
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

n+1=n; n>1

I've been riding for a bit over two years, and on my steel Gunnar Sport for a bit over a year of that. Last December, I hired a coach and started training to race. I've enjoyed riding and racing the Gunnar, though it took me awhile to get where I could steer the big beast around corners. In fact, I crashed (hard) the first time I tried to push the pace on it during a charity ride, not quite making it around a downhill off-camber corner. Somehow, the cracked ribs and being knocked unconscious gave me a need for speed, and I've been riding the Gunnar with confidence in fast group pacelines, crit's and road races. However, as I improved my fitness, it became clear that the Gunnar's 22# weight, and its handling, were beginning to hold me back. My size (6'6" and 198#) and age (56) are enough to hold me back, all else being equal, and so I decided to take the plunge and buy a full carbon race bike. For edutainment purposes, I'll go through the decision and purchase process.

Step 1: The first decision was whether to once again go custom, or to try an off-the-shelf bikes. I quickly decided I wanted something off-the-shelf, believing my improved fitness would enable me to comfortably ride a bike with greater saddle-to-bar drop than what I was using with the Gunnar. I wanted 'monocoque' construction, with shaped tubing, as opposed to round tubing cut to size and then mated with carbon or Ti lugs. I also wanted to pay a reasonable, non-custom price, like normal people do.