Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Climbing in the Eastern Sierras

Our club had a weekend in the Lone Pine area and 19 riders made the 4 hour drive to try some of the most difficult climbs in California. I borrowed a 30 tooth cassette and did 2 of the 4 featured climbs. I love riding in the mountains but I've never done these monsters before and it really kicked my butt.
    First we did White Mountain road to the Ancient Bristlecone forest, a 22 mile climb with at least 6600 feet of gain.

Early in the climb.

A view near the top, looking west. Lots of snow still up there.

Sunday I went up to Whitney Portal with a small group of 50+ riders. Here is a shot near the bottom.

Near the middle of the climb.

Relaxing before the descent.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some of the others went to Horseshoe meadows, a similar climb to White Mountain.

The roads are so high it looks like the view from an airplane.

I am not really built for this stuff but for anyone who loves climbing this is a great place to spend a few days.

Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice! I didn't hear anything about this... I guess once you leave the Valley, you're an outsider.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by VanceMac View Post
    Nice! I didn't hear anything about this... I guess once you leave the Valley, you're an outsider.
    It was on the club website. I wish you had come along, there were many levels of riders and we all had a great time.

I hope to get some more pictures from the others and will post them here if I do.

My Bikes
    Specialized Roubaix
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wished I lived closer to you guys John. It looks like hard fun.
    George

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good description, George. I just got a few more pics, here's one of me.