User Tag List

My Bikes
    MASI Gran Criterium S & Guru steel
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A Simple Lesson (re) learned.....

I ride a Masi Gran Criterium S w/ AL frame and CF fork and rear and a Selle Italia Flite Gel saddle. I've been using this saddle for 3 yrs. both on the road and rollers in the off season. Until this season it's been a comfortable seat. This winter I decided to concentrate on my spin on the rollers and got comfortable in the 100-110 rpm range. However, once the weather broke and I got out on the road I started noticing it was difficult for me to spin beyond 85-90 rpm's and I started getting soreness in my right sitzbone. At first I thought it was all about needing more time on the saddle. But, riding showed no improvement. I also noticed I was riding more on the nose of the saddle. I then started thinking that because I had lost 8 lbs in the off season and am now 65, perhaps I was just losing my fast twitch fibers and was generally getting "bonier" in my butt. Went down to the bike shop to look at saddles and got measured for saddle width. This process took weeks and was starting to make me a little crazy. One day in the workshop I decided to check the fore-aft position of my saddle. Don't know why...just felt I should. Good grief! The saddle was nose down and set back way too much. I leveled the saddle and moved it forward about 1/2". Much, much better. Spinning well, feeling better. Then I remembered....my bike had been in the LBS. My theory is a tech took the seat off to put it on their workstand and somehow messed up my settings. My new mantra....check your settings. Damn.

My Bikes
    1990 Trek 1500; 2006 Gary Fisher Marlin; 2011 Cannondale Synapse Alloy 105; 2012 Catrike Trail
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)