User Tag List

My Bikes
    2011 Felt F3 Ltd, 2010 Trek 2.1, 2009 KHS Flite 220, 1991 Bianchi Osprey
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Minutia: 25 vs. 23 mm tires

Like most folks riding performance road bikes, I ride with 23 mm tires. A friend swears that I'll be more comfortable and perhaps faster with a 25 mm tire in the back. Surely the difference would be small. But I'm wondering if any of you ride with 25 in the back and 23 in the front and if you think there's a noticeable improvement over two 23s?

My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I ride a 25 on the back with a 23 on the front. Have for a few years. Yes, it does ride easier. Sometimes I use a 25 on the front, but not often.
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've ridden both and the only difference I have noticed is I get fewer flats with the 25's (same brand of tire). I am sure racer types could tell the difference, but I am just a commuter hack and they feel the same to me.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I often ride with a 25 rear and a 23 front. I find a larger difference between different makes of tire than between different sizes. However, if I still lived where the roads are maintained I would likely go with 23 front and rear.

Have bike, will travel Barrettscv's Avatar
    My Bikes
    A road bike for every purpose
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I also ride 23s in the front & a 25 in the rear. I'm 210 lbs and rear wheel carries far more weight than the front. Also, the rear triangle cannot absorb much in the way of impact, while the fork is better able to flex. I can reduce my air pressure by 10 psi with a 25 sized tire without concern of pinch flatting. I prefer that the air in the tube absorb small impacts, rather than the wheel or rider.