Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    Giant XTC 1 SE
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Beta blockers????

Anyone here on beta blocker? Been doing some research and found out that people that exercise are limited if they are taking beta blockers. Can produce asthma like condition if you really push yourself. Have had this happen to me. Sprinting up a hill hard will result in this happening.(as will really good sex!)
    Have to see my doctor in next couple of weeks and I am going to ask him if there is something else that does not have these side effects.
    Anyone on the forum been down this road?

My Bikes
    2008 Specialized Roubaix Elite Triple
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <disclaimer>
    I am not a medical professional or doctor and this advice is based only on non-professional common sense.
    </disclaimer>

The beta blockers are doing exactly what they are supposed to be doing. They keep your heart from exceeding a specific output (beats, compression, rate, etc.). It's like a governor on an old carburetor.

The idea with a beta blocker is that when you start to feel that 'asthma-like' condition...you are exceeding your heart's ability to deliver oxygen and you should heed that warning. Slow down. Take it easy.

You might have to adjust your training to ride longer times at lower output/power to achieve the same workout.

You are probably on beta blockers intentionally (prescribed by your doctor) to keep your heart from over-working & exploding inside your chest.

Good advice: it's best to not have your heart explode inside your chest.

<disclaimer>
    Again, I am not a medical professional or doctor. My advice is based only on common sense regarding your heart not exploding inside your chest.
    </disclaimer>

The Mississippi Flash triggerracing's Avatar
    My Bikes
    Specialized Hardrock MB
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)