Thread: Seeking Advise

My Bikes
    Cannondale Caad 8, Cannondale Quick 5, Gary Fisher Aquila
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Seeking Advise

I am new to road biking and purchasred a 2010 Cannondale Caad 8 I have been riding every chance I get. Love the bike but it seems every time I am out something allways go wrong with it .From the derailer going to far ,the chain snapped in half and today a spoke just broke.
    I have been averaging 25 to 30 miles with speeds averaging out to 16.5 miles a hour on smoth roads and have never hit anything.I enjoy this bike very much and was debating upgrading the rims and crank.My other choice is to upgrade to a super six but I now wonder if this is a Cannondale problem and should I just buy a Specialized or a Trek.
    I would realy like some feed back as I realy enjoy this sport and would like to make the correct choice.

My Bikes
    '08 Fuji Roubaix RC; '07 Schwinn Le Tour GS; '92 Diamond Back Ascent EX
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How much do you weigh? How many miles on the bike? What maintenance do you do?

The derailluer was an adjustment issue that could happen on any bike. If it was the RD and a drive-side rear spoke, they could be connected. Chaain snapping is usually lack of maintenance. None of it sounds brand-specific.

I understand a new wheelset but what is the reason to replace the crankset? New bikes are cool but, if you don't keep up on maintenance, you will have problems. Even with maintenance, things wear out and break.

Pedals, Paddles and Poles Daspydyr's Avatar
    My Bikes
    Scott Spark 20, Orbea Orca
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    CACy is asking good questions. Sounds like the bike is not dialed in properly. A routine maintenance at a bike shop might get everything squared up for you. A derailer going to far is a simple adjustment gone bad. Swammie sees a Rim Truing in your near future.