User Tag List

My Bikes
    '88 Alpine Sport, '13 Fuji Gran Fondo
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Sneaking in, couple of bike and endurance questions

I won't be 50 for another month, so I'm sneaking in here early. I've been riding the same bike for 23 years. It's an old Alpine, (Bike Shop/Motobecane), steel sport. The frame geometry is what is now called touring. My local bike shop keeps it going for me and it now has 14 gears 2/7, nice wheelset and new BB. It's still stem shift. I'm wondering if anyone here has upgraded to a modern bike after so long? Was it a good or bad decision. I'm just shy of 3000 miles on it this year, so I don't know if changing geometry will be good or bad. I've broken 11 bones on ths bike, done at least 20,000 miles on it and am missing the vastus lateralis, (large outside thigh muscle), from a motorcycle misadventure 31 years ago. I have also noticed this year I seem to be getting shorter winded with high output. I can go all day still, I just get winded quicker standing or holding big gears on hills. I had a pulmonary embolism a year ago, so that might be part of it. My Doc says it take a good year or so to heal from that. I know I've put a lot in here. Just hoping for experienced or expert thoughts on any of these areas.

Have bike, will travel Barrettscv's Avatar
    My Bikes
    A road bike for every purpose
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I rode this for more than 25 years;

It had 52 & 49 chainrings and an 13-24 free-wheel. While the bike had many good qualities, it was never a good match for my needs.

I have two bikes now. Both are lighter, fit well and have a wide gear range to help with any hill, even when I'm dead tired late in a 200k event;

and

I would try a modern bike with wide range gearing. Use either a road triple or a compact 50 & 34t crankset with a 12-28 rear cassette or even a 12-32.
    Last edited by Barrettscv; 12-12-11 at 08:39 AM.