Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Relatives (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/787812-relatives.html)

RonH 12-20-11 08:18 AM

Relatives

We had our extended family Christmas get together at a local restaurant last night. One of the first questions I was asked by one of the husbands was, "Still riding your bike?"
Every time we have a family gathering someone in the group will ask that question. :notamused:
I guess they just don't understand our passion for riding. Maybe they think cycling is just a passing interest, even though I've been riding since 1999.

Anyone else have looney relatives like this? :rolleyes:

10 Wheels 12-20-11 08:24 AM

I get good support from all of mine.
Gift cards from bike sites, donations for charity rides.

They ask me what I need to keep riding.

velocycling 12-20-11 08:32 AM

Next year ride to the restaurant. No questions asked

bruce19 12-20-11 08:37 AM

The conversation that stands out to me occurred after my brother-in-law and I had ridden from Sebago Lake in Maine to my house in Mansfield, CT. It was a ride of 250 mi. in 2 1/2 days. We were having dinner and one of our sisters-in-law said she was really impressed with what we had done. She commented that it took extraordinary people to accomplish such a feat. My brother-in-law Bob said, "That's not true. You could do it too, Lydia, but first you have to get on the bike."

John_V 12-20-11 08:41 AM

All of my close relatives know that I am still active in cycling and the questions they ask are more like "where have you ridden lately" and "what was your last charity ride?"

Terex 12-20-11 08:51 AM

Originally Posted by RonH (Post 13620805)
We had our extended family Christmas get together at a local restaurant last night. One of the first questions I was asked by one of the husbands was, "Still riding your bike?"