User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Joint issues riding a bike

Hi, All- and a Merry Christmas!
    I'm new to the world of cycling again at 63... I've had a knee replaced a few years ago, and have osteoarthritis in both feet quite bad. I live in Crocs year round, after wasting several hundred dollars on podiatrists and "The Good Foot" store. Does biking cause further deterioration of joints??
    Wes

Banned
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not in my experience. While I have largely lost the capability of sustained running (even with proper shoes, as I discovered yesterday chasing a bus), a decade-plus of constant riding has kept my lower joints pretty supple; ALL of my joint issues are shoulder- and wrist-related. (I have OA in the shoulders, progressed enough that joints routinely 'slip' out of alignment, and both wrists have had breaks)

The trick, I would suggest, is to find a gear you can pedal without feeling like you're doing leg presses. Simple as that.

A might bewildered... Dudelsack's Avatar
    My Bikes
    Bacchetta Giro ATT 26; Lemond Buenos Aires
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Bicycling is the Last Refuge of the arthritic athlete. The next twenty posts will tell you to ride a bike that is fitted to you properly.

There is one member of the bike club who has trouble walking, but can ride almost anyone into the ground.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You probably have to be careful on your choice of cycling shoe, a stiff sole works best for me. You can buy shoes with moldable footbeds and you can buy full custom shoes. I suspect you can find something off the shelf that will work.
    Have you decided on pedals? Flat pedals to start?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In addition to all the great stuff above, the saddle(seat)height is very very important,as is pedaling cadence..
    Bud

My Bikes