Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

My Bikes
    Moots Vamoots, Bianchi Volpe, 2 Salsa Casserolls (fixed & Triple), 2011 Salsa Chili Con Crosso, 1983 Schwinn Supersport, Schwinn Mesa MTB
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Tell me about your 3 Speed Fixed Gear Bikes

I've been riding fixed for 3 years. This past year I road Cycle North Carolina. This starts in the mountains and ends on the coast after about 500 miles. I used a flip-flop with 2 available gear ratios and did fine. The worst parts were the long decents on days 1 and 2 and the unrelenting 15 mph headwinds toward the end.

But around home I am surrounded by elevation changes that are 1/2 mile long, give or take, and 200 feet, give or take. The problem is that the climbs are pitchy. It is not unusual for them to kick up to 15-20% in spots, and when that happens I just can't make it. So, I have to pick routes around climbs I can make.

Is the S3X my answer?

Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Doesn't sound like Cycle North Carolina is the type of ride I'd want to take a fixie on, gears or no gears. Kudos to you for even trying it.
    The S3X does not have a large range, only 160% compared to 177% for the traditional 3 speed, so I don't know if it would make enough difference on a ride like that to be worth it.
    However, for the teeny hills I do around here, the S3X makes the difference for me. I don't think I'd want a single speed fixie now.
    Gearhubs demystified and other cool stuff.

The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one. Elbert Hubbard.

My Bikes
    Moots Vamoots, Bianchi Volpe, 2 Salsa Casserolls (fixed & Triple), 2011 Salsa Chili Con Crosso, 1983 Schwinn Supersport, Schwinn Mesa MTB
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)