Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

So how long does it take for a hip to heal?

I'm new to clipless pedals and managed to take my first spill today. I hit a bump in the pavement and did a classic, slow speed, fall over on your side while still clipped in, crash. I landed hip first and it HURT!

Well after 4 hours in the Emercency Room we have determined that the X-Rays and CT Scan are negative and that I have no broken bones. That's the good news.

The bad news is that I cant put ANY weight on my left leg without my hip joint producing a searing, make-your-knees-buckle- pain.

I am 100% comfortable sitting here but cannot stand at all on my left leg. The doctor called it a 'major contusion' and sent me home with a prescription for Vicodin and recommendation to see an orthopedic doctor in several days if I still can stand. Currently I'm icing the injury and taking Tylenol. It's been 6 hours now and I can tell the hip if starting to stiffen up.

So ... the question is .... how long is it going to take this thing to heal up so that I can walk / ride again????

Spring I finally here and I want to ride!!!

Yours,
    Spud

Galveston County Texas 10 Wheels's Avatar
    My Bikes
    GTO
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ouch...Take it one day at a time.

I ride with toe clips no straps.

Paid off for me last month.
    Had my first crash in 40,000 miles.

Minor knee bo bo...Warning some Blood in the pic.

http://i256.photobucket.com/albums/h...nBooBoo044.jpg

Last edited by 10 Wheels; 03-18-12 at 06:08 PM.
    [SIZE=1][B]What I like about Texas[/B]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGukLuXzH1E

Set F1re To The Ra1n ( NY Night Rain Ride)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7jfcWEkSrI

A might bewildered... Dudelsack's Avatar
    My Bikes
    Bacchetta Giro ATT 26; Lemond Buenos Aires
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)