User Tag List

My Bikes
    Trek Madone 6.2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

What Should My Expectations Be?

I started riding a rode bike last March, so it's been a year. I try to ride two times a week, one a 20-25 mile ride and the other a longer ride, usually 40-50 miles. This past weekend, I rode the longest of my short riding career, 57 miles. I would like to do a century ride, but that 57 miles was hard. I turned 60 this past December and the leg muscles aren't developing as fast as I would like. My question is, how long should it take to develop the strength and endurance to do a century? I know it's a pretty vague question, but thought I would generate a little discussion regarding strenght and endurance for us older folks. Thoughts?

My Bikes
    Trek Mtn Bike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I really don't know. One of these days I'm going to try myself. You might try these links.

http://www.ultracycling.com/sections/articles/

http://bicycling.about.com/od/traini.../a/century.htm

My Bikes
    Giant Propel, Cervelo P2
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've read that doing 80% of the distance before you give it a try is a reasonable approach. I think what would help you most, though, is to increase the frequency of your rides. If you can add couple of days of similar distances, you'll find yourself getting stronger much more quickly. 5-6 days is ideal. From a training perspective, more than one day in a row off the bike is too much, unless you have really really pushed it.
    "If you're riding less than 18 MPH up a 2% grade please tell people Coggan is coaching you."

My Bikes
    Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AzTallRider View Post