User Tag List

My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Can a lighter bike help a " cyclist?

Each time I see or participate in a thread concerning cutting the weight of a bike there are always a number of comments about losing weight before cutting the weight of the bike.

Therefore, I am beginning to wonder if a "less than skinny" cyclists should bother with riding a lightweight bike. Are riders that carry any weight at all regulated to 20 plus pound cruisers?
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That depends on your wallet, not on the opinons of others.

My Bikes
    2009 Rocky Mountain RC30 D
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BikeArkansas View Post
    Therefore, I am beginning to wonder if a "less than skinny" cyclists should bother with riding a lightweight bike. Are riders that carry any weight at all regulated to 20 plus pound cruisers?
    Ride any type of bike that you like and enjoy doing so.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As I understand it, and I think this is correct, that so long as your bike has good quality, low friction components and good tires and wheels, and a good fit, a few extra pounds on the bike are irrelevant. The difference between a good quality bike and a top of the line bike is minimal - the motor is way more important than the bike.

My Bikes
    2 many
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone can benefit from a lighter bike. To some it's important, to others it's not. As already said, it's up to you. You're going to get all kinds of opinions. Many will say you should lose weight first. Who cares? If you have the cash you can have a better bike now. Takes a while to lose weight.