User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Can a lighter bike help a heavier cyclist?

Each time I see or participate in a thread concerning cutting the weight of a bike there are always a number of comments about losing weight before cutting the weight of the bike.

Therefore, I am beginning to wonder if a heavier cyclists should bother with riding a lightweight bike. Are riders that carry any weight at all regulated to 20 plus pound cruisers?
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Weight is weight and taking a couple pounds off of your bike will make climbing a little easier, at least in theory. Whether this small difference will be worth it to you is another story.
    Wouldn't it be cool to lose weight off the bike and the body?

My Bikes
    Spec Roubaix, three Fisher Montare, two Pugs
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think so. After years of riding a touring bike, a mtn bike and a recent fat tire bike, I finally got a carbon fiber road bike for my wife and I. Wow. Huge difference. It was one of those dramatic changes that you end up going, "Damn. I wish I'd done this years ago." We still have snow on the ground and ice on the roads so I'm still riding my mtn bike with studded tires and I am so very much looking forward to getting back on my road bike. I still need to drop another 30lb but regardless of who you are, there is a huge difference between a typical mtn bike and a lightweight full carbon bike. It's totally spoiled me. My wife and I both love the speed and feel. I recommend a lightweight road bike for everyone! .

My Bikes
    '88 Cannondale Criterium, Trek Pro Series
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Get the road bike!