Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    Trek 610, Cannondale Bad Boy
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Buying a new bike and feeling guilty about it

First, a little background info: I started riding seriously in high school. My sister, who is only an inch shorter than I am, had a Raleigh Super Course that she had been badly injured on and didn't want to ride. I rode that until my senior year, when the plastic rear derailleur collapsed into the rear wheel and stopped it, tossing me over the bars.

I didn't take a bike to college, but when I got back, I started riding on another of my sister's cast-offs, a low end bike boom 10 speed whose maker I don't remember. After I got a place of my own, I bought a Trek 610, and that has been my road bike ever since. I rode it heavily until I moved to Chicago. Because of the junk on the city streets, I got too many flats, so I bought a Trek 950 to use as a city bike. I moved out to the 'burbs a couple years later, and used the 950 as a commuter and the 610 for fun rides. Moved back to Atlanta, starting riding dirt on the 950, and still using the 610 on the street. Got married, bought a new house, had children and quit riding for a few years. Once my children were old enough, bought a Burley Piccolo trailerbike and used the 950 to tow it. The 950 had gotten ratty, and bought a Cannondale Bad Boy to pull the Burley and use as a grocery getter. That was about six or seven years ago. Last year, I gave the 950 away.

I got a new boss a couple of years ago who is an avid triathlete. He kind of challenged us to do a sprint tri, and I accepted the challenge, so I dusted off the 610 which hadn't been ridden in eight years. I'd forgotten how much I enjoyed riding that bike and used it for the tri, then continued riding it after the tri was over.