Cycling and bicycle discussion forums. 
   Click here to join our community Log in to access your Control Panel  

Go Back   > >

Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

User Tag List

Old 05-23-12, 12:52 AM   #1
billydonn
Council of the Elders

Bikes: 1990 Schwinn Crosscut, 5 Lemonds
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Got the Shoes- Now Need Advice on Road Pedals

I've been riding SPDs for a couple years now but have decided to try some true road shoes. My new Sidis are on the way but now it's time to select the pedals. I'm particularly interested in a good contact area that might help further eliminate hotspots on longer rides. 50+ roadies... what has worked well for you?
billydonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-12, 01:15 AM   #2
ericm979

Bikes:
SPD-SL. Not the lightest but they're reliable and have a large contact area (and large but relatively walkable) cleat.
ericm979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-12, 01:42 AM   #3
chasm54
Banned.

Bikes:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericm979 View Post
SPD-SL. Not the lightest but they're reliable and have a large contact area (and large but relatively walkable) cleat.
Seem to be agreeing with you a lot this morning. I use these, the large contact area suits me and in over five years I've never had a problem with them.
chasm54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-12, 04:17 AM   #4
CraigB
Starting over

Bikes: 1990 Trek 1500; 2006 Gary Fisher Marlin; 2011 Cannondale Synapse Alloy 105; 2012 Catrike Trail
I used Looks for over 20 years. My most recent pedal purchase was a relatively inexpensive pair of Nashbar Look-compatibles just to save some money.
CraigB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-12, 05:21 AM   #5
gtragitt

Bikes: 2011 Trek SOHO Deluxe, and 2010 Specialized Roubaix Expert