Council of the Elders billydonn's Avatar
    My Bikes
    1990 Schwinn Crosscut, 5 Lemonds
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Got the Shoes- Now Need Advice on Road Pedals

I've been riding SPDs for a couple years now but have decided to try some true road shoes. My new Sidis are on the way but now it's time to select the pedals. I'm particularly interested in a good contact area that might help further eliminate hotspots on longer rides. 50+ roadies... what has worked well for you?

There is a time to resign oneself
    to old age and infirmity. You first.
    My Cycling Blogspot

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SPD-SL. Not the lightest but they're reliable and have a large contact area (and large but relatively walkable) cleat.

Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ericm979 View Post
    SPD-SL. Not the lightest but they're reliable and have a large contact area (and large but relatively walkable) cleat.
    Seem to be agreeing with you a lot this morning. I use these, the large contact area suits me and in over five years I've never had a problem with them.
    There have been many days when I haven't felt like riding, but there has never been a day when I was sorry I rode.

My Bikes
    1990 Trek 1500; 2006 Gary Fisher Marlin; 2011 Cannondale Synapse Alloy 105; 2012 Catrike Trail
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used Looks for over 20 years. My most recent pedal purchase was a relatively inexpensive pair of Nashbar Look-compatibles just to save some money.
    Craig in Indy

My Bikes
    2011 Trek SOHO Deluxe, and 2010 Specialized Roubaix Expert
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)