Bike Forums

Bike Forums (http://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (http://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   TDF thread. Rules for spoilers (http://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/829025-tdf-thread-rules-spoilers.html)

stapfam 06-30-12 03:05 PM

TDF thread. Rules for spoilers
 
Some one is going to do it and in the past I was guilty after forgetting that you are 6 hours behind us over here and others may have to watch by a recording.

So just a simple request is that IF you have to comment on the result of the days racing- then head your thread with "SPOILER"

And just to spoil it for some of us--Didn't see too many "White" bikes today. Maybe the colour has gone out of fashion--Or perhaps I was looking to see how some of the sprinters that came to the fore last year were going to fare up against Mark.

chasm54 06-30-12 03:46 PM

Why not just post in the pro forum, which is designed for the purpose? It seems daft to have TdF threads in half the forums on BF.

10 Wheels 06-30-12 05:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chasm54 (Post 14425643)
Why not just post in the pro forum, which is designed for the purpose? It seems daft to have TdF threads in half the forums on BF.

Retired folks are daft.......get over it.

lhbernhardt 07-01-12 12:08 AM

I'm not even retired yet and I'm daft.

Luis

lhbernhardt 07-01-12 12:23 AM

Oh, and I'm assuming it's no longer a spoiler after 12 hours have passed since the finish of that day's stage? So if you post after about 9 pm Eastern/6 pm Pacific Daylight Time (basically the next day in Europe), then you're OK? Doesn't NBC or TSN2(Canada) run their daily roundup at 8 pm Eastern/5 pm Pacific?

I've always thought that this "spoiler" thing was kinda weird. I mean, who cares? If you listen to the news on the radio, you'll probably hear the day's result anyway. Why should it detract from your enjoyment of watching your delayed video if you already know who won? It seems to me more an imposition on others to restrict their ability to express their perspectives because of someone's selfishness. Is it realistic to live in a bubble? Where is the onus? And I'm not asking in a rhetorical, mean-spirited way (which one could easily construe from just reading the words). I'm interested in people's perspectives on the issue of spoilers.

Luis

stapfam 07-01-12 12:38 AM

I know I am an avid fan of the TDF and will be watching it Live on TV as often as I can. But there will be a few occasions when I will have to watch a recording and I will avoid any sports news or even open up the BBC channel on the computer till I have watched that recording. Nothing worse than watching something that you know the result of.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 AM.