Thread: Dizzy

My Bikes
    2008 Scott Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dizzy

I am scheduled to ride in the "Peach Pedal" , a ride in Weatherford, Texas. This ride is in preparation for the Hottern' Hell Hundred in late August. Motel reservations made for my wife and I along with my riding partner and his wife. However, I woke up this morning with my whole world going around and around. I could not get my balance and could not find a good position to hold my head. I was a bit frightened.

My wife took me to the doctor's office. Could not see my regular doctor, but did get in to see one. He said it was an inner ear viral infection. It would be OK in a few days, maybe a week. He said the infection would not be affected by me riding, but a crash due to a lack of balance might hurt. I am staying home. What a way to miss a ride.
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

My Bikes
    Cannondale t1, Koga-Miyata World Traveller
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That feeling of dizzyness is quite disconcerting. I get it occasionally when I stand up. The world turns grey. I try and get something to hold on to.

You're making the right choice to withdraw. My son is going through that right now because 3 weeks ago he crashed his bike. Other than road rash, he only broke two ribs. He had his whole summer of triathlons all mapped out and now he can't lift his hand over his head. Hasn't even tried swimming.

Let the ear heal and don't add any complications by being too anxious to get back on your bike.
    The one who has the most bikes wins.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)