Thread: Mup

My Bikes
    Raleigh Misceo
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Mup

Ha, I'm new to this so didn't know what the acronym meant, although I thought I had a rough idea. I googled it and came up with a very old thread from this forum. I got a good laugh, and I needed it today!

Of course it split of to another thread and I've never heard of a Fred before. Different definitions for that one but I don't fit any of those.

I think my prefered riding area is considered a MUP but I'm still not sure. Maybe the link will work. Is this a MUP?

http://www.veloway.com/
    Russ Lane
    ATX
    "I'm old and I'm slow"

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Multi Use Paths are for everyone but this one does not allow pedestrians and dog walkers. Sounds better to me as all you have to contend with are the "Racers" trying to do a lap or 10 at their highest speed. All you have to do with them is put the I-Pod on at full volume so you don't hear the insults.
    How long was I in the army? Five foot seven.

Spike Milligan

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That looks like a dedicated bicycle path. No pedestrians allowed. A MUP (Multi-Use Path) is for pedestrians, bicyclists, skateboarders, high-wheelers (and anyone who's high in general, at least around here), strollers, sunset-watchers, packs of teen-age boys, sand sculptors headed for the beach, chariots (one day of the year, in Venice), and anyone else in the vicinity. They have special hazards. I tend to use them only early in the morning.

My Bikes
    Specialized Camber Elite 29er
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)