User Tag List

My Bikes
    2011 Specialized Sectuer, 1988 Bianchi
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cycling; Family vacation (lots of pics)

I'm down in Rosemary Beach Florida, for a family vacation. I brought my road bike with the intention of riding early in the mornings, then spending the rest of the day with grandkids and family. Surprisingly it has been working wonderfully! I also wanted to use this time as a training precursor to next years CRMBT (Colorado Rocky Mountain Bicycle Tour) which is a seven day event similar to the RTR. My riding started this past Sunday and I rode 4 consecutive days (something I have never done before) leading up to this morning which I am calling a rest day. The mileage is not that impressive: Sunday 21 miles, Monday 26 miles, Tuesday 22 miles, Wednesday 32 miles , Today... rest.
    Friday will be my final day of riding, because we will be leaving early Saturday morning for the drive home.

The vacation started here at our neighborhood Donut Hole Rosemary beach vacation.jpg

The bikes are strapped on to a new bike rack I ordered from Amazon. RMBV 1.jpg

We stopped in Biloxi Mississippi for lunch... RMBV2.jpgRMBV3.jpg

Stuck in traffic jam at the Mobile Bay Tunnel for an hour and a half. RMBV5.jpg

Finally made it to Rosemary Beach and out for my first ride... This is the view heading west from Rosemary, and a pic of the nice path you can ride on. So many walkers and cruiser bikes, the road is often more appealing despite the fact there is no shoulder. The motorists are well conditioned to sharing the road because there are literally hundreds of cyclists travelling on this road, oh by the way the road is hwy 30A RMBV6.jpgRMBV7.jpg