Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Can not ride out of low gear

I am new to riding, I ride a Giant Sedona DX 24 speed and I only use the first 6 gears. I live in Florida, so I ride on flat land and ride on sidewalks or roads. I am hoping that it is just because I am new and need to build up leg strength to be able to utilize the upper gears. My question is, is the Giant Sedona DX considered a off road bike?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This bike is all stock, I bought it in 2006

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sedona can go offroad on gentle trails but not anything that it too lumpy or bumpy. But can't get out of a low gear?--Stop going uphills

Takes time for some of us to get the body and various parts of it working on a bike. Depends how fit you were before you started but even if you were reasonably fit- it takes time to get bike fit. Some of us are still trying to attain that but with practice- time and effort--It won't bee long before you are moaning about being too low geared.
    How long was I in the army? Five foot seven.

Spike Milligan

My Bikes
    Trek 7500, RANS V-Rex, Optima Baron, Velokraft NoCom, M-5 Carbon Highracer, homebuilt recumbent
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Noobee View Post
    I am new to riding, I ride a Giant Sedona DX 24 speed and I only use the first 6 gears. I live in Florida, so I ride on flat land and ride on sidewalks or roads. I am hoping that it is just because I am new and need to build up leg strength to be able to utilize the upper gears. My question is, is the Giant Sedona DX considered a off road bike?