Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Garmin data reports a new max HR (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/843093-garmin-data-reports-new-max-hr.html)

Yen 08-30-12 05:36 PM

Garmin data reports a new max HR

I was organizing my Garmin data from this year's rides. I didn't ride at all last year, and this is my first year with the Garmin. I began riding again in late January after getting clearance from my elbow doctor.

Anyway, on March 19 it recorded a max HR of 187:eek: at the very top of a steep hill we climb on the Monday ride. This was news to me; I thought my max was 182!

Five months (and 1400+ miles) later (not including miles on the spin bike at the gym :D), my HR at the top of that same hill, with a faster group, on warm summer mornings, is now 177. And I expect to see it much lower next year.

I am a data junkie and one of the things I like most about the Garmin is watching my HR drop as I put on more miles. I don't have to wonder or guess or stop to count my pulse. I don't let it interfere with my rides, I just let it record so I can check the data later.

billydonn 08-30-12 09:57 PM

Hey Yen... good job! :thumb:

I think you are getting what is called "fit". I've had the same experience, i.e. hills that used to spike my HR don't anymore. Most of my rides now tend to be more limited by leg pain/fatigue than inability to process oxygen.

Watch out now, that you don't begin to lust for a powermeter! :)

George 08-31-12 06:41 AM

I just got a Garmin 500 without the bundle, but a friend gave me his heart rate strap and it showed 245. I gave it back and ordered another one. My max use to be 170. I cant wait for my new one to come to see what it really is.

Anyhow Yen, your numbers sound pretty good. I guess everything is working the way it should, good job.

Hermes 08-31-12 08:22 AM