Cycling and bicycle discussion forums. 
   Click here to join our community Log in to access your Control Panel  

Go Back   > >

Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

User Tag List

Old 10-21-12, 08:46 AM   #1
plodderslusk

Bikes:
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Another gravelgrinder.

Bought this 93 Kona Kilauea at a fleamarket yesterday. Good condition and it seems someone had made it roadready and then given it away. All I had to do was raise the seat and lower the stem and then I had a really nice 50 mile ride today. Maybe it is because I started riding Mtb's around 91 that I still like the geometry of these old steel bikes. Thumbshifters and a 7 speed cassette is all I need of gears and shifters. Weird short cage XT RD, but it worked very well.

plodderslusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-12, 09:32 AM   #2
GeorgeBMac

Bikes: 2012 Trek DS 8.5 all weather hybrid, 2008 LeMond Poprad cyclocross, 1992 Cannondale R500 roadbike
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wow! That's a pretty bike and a nice find. And, it sounds like it fits you as well...

Best of luck with your new ride... It looks like it can take you many places...
GeorgeBMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-12, 09:42 AM   #3
Gerryattrick
Beicwyr Hapus

Bikes: 3 rideable (Genesis, Dawes & Merlin, 2 in pieces (Orange & Dawes)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Nice bike. I've just built up my first Kona (a 94 Cinder Cone) from an old frame and fork. I was going to sell it, but after a few trial rides I like it so much I've decided to keep it. My other mtbs are hard tails but these bikes with the P2 fork are great kept as rigids.
Gerryattrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-12, 11:27 AM   #4
stapfam
Time for a change.

Location: 6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England