Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Another gravelgrinder.

Bought this 93 Kona Kilauea at a fleamarket yesterday. Good condition and it seems someone had made it roadready and then given it away. All I had to do was raise the seat and lower the stem and then I had a really nice 50 mile ride today. Maybe it is because I started riding Mtb's around 91 that I still like the geometry of these old steel bikes. Thumbshifters and a 7 speed cassette is all I need of gears and shifters. Weird short cage XT RD, but it worked very well.

My Bikes
    2012 Trek DS 8.5 all weather hybrid, 2008 LeMond Poprad cyclocross, 1992 Cannondale R500 roadbike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow! That's a pretty bike and a nice find. And, it sounds like it fits you as well...

Best of luck with your new ride... It looks like it can take you many places...
    --------------------------------------
    bikes: 1992 Cannondale R500, 2012 Trek DS 8.5, 2008 LeMond Poprad

My Bikes
    2 rideable, 5. in pieces
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice bike. I've just built up my first Kona (a 94 Cinder Cone) from an old frame and fork. I was going to sell it, but after a few trial rides I like it so much I've decided to keep it. My other mtbs are hard tails but these bikes with the P2 fork are great kept as rigids.

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That Kona Kilauea is/was the cheaper version of the Kona Explosif I bought in 92. Same frame geometry although it was a better tubing on the Explosif and 8 spd XT throughout. Those Thumbshifters are fantastic on a frosty morning up on the hills. No fingers necessary- as the thick gloved hand worked just aswell.