User Tag List

My Bikes
    2013 Specialized Sirrus Elite, 2014 Secteur Elite
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Finally getting a bike that fits me

I started riding again in September, after 45 years off a bicycle. (Still have my motorcycle)
    In September, I bought a 2012 Giant Sedona, a nice bike, in the largest size they make that bike. (Large) LBS told me I needed an XL at the time, but I wanted to make sure I would ride it enough before I shelled out the money difference for the next model up. Well, after riding several bikes, I chose the Specialized Sirrus Elite. I am excited to ride it, since I put over 500miles on the Giant in the last 3 months of the year. I am hoping this bike will last me several years, and is more suited to the type of riding I have been doing. I ride mainly on rural hiways and county roads, not any mountain biking. Since I am in Kansas, I want to try the Katy trail, which is a RR track turned bike trail. Anyone else ride a Sirrus with any thoughts? It seemed to be a highly rated bike, and I loved it when I test rode it. LBS had to order color I wanted. Not in yet, so no pics.

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was a mountain biker and eventually went road. My one concern about going road was the bar position. I nearly stayed on mountain bikes but while I was thinking- I tried out a few bikes of the Hybrid variety. One of those was a Sirrus and I cannot tell you the model as it was a long time ago. That bike impressed me. It handles well and was basically a road bike with handlebars that I was used to. It was far better than the other Hybrids that I tried but was just not quite right for me as although it was a road/ trail bike- I knew it would get used off road and I had better bikes for that use.