Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Riding your first Sportive at 50+

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-13, 04:04 PM

Bikes: Trek 7.5fx, Specialized Roubaix Comp, Allez , Create 2013, Dutch sit up and beg, Mountain bike,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have been riding for a few years but primarily on my own and have entered on short notice in two days my first ever sportive problem is that I have no idea how fast one is supposed to travel and whether I should just do my own thing.
Where I live there are very few inclines but the sportive is somewhere there are loads of steep inclines. My other issue is that due to bad weather I havent done any long rides this year but have done tons in a gym lots and lots of XBike HISS classes and weights etc so dont know if I will have my cycle legs ready so soon.
I have the choice of about 30 or 55 mile I would like to do the longer but not the longest 100 miles .
Any advice will be appreciated btw I am not at 53 trying to be a professional cyclist just one who trys for his own betterment I have nothing to prove to anyone but me...
Old 04-19-13, 04:12 PM
Galveston County Texas

Bikes: 02 GTO, 2011 Magnum

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked 1,245 Times in 623 Posts
Go for the 30 mile and enjoy the ride.

You won't do well on the hills.

The 55 mile will be too much because of the hills.

Old 04-19-13, 04:15 PM

Bikes: Trek 7.5fx, Specialized Roubaix Comp, Allez , Create 2013, Dutch sit up and beg, Mountain bike,

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 10 Wheels