Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm an engineer, how many others, does it effect your cycling choices?

I'm admittedly a stereotypical engineer, Environmental by degree but I have worked as a civil engineer for 27 years now. I find my choices for bikes, components and tools influenced by my background almost completely. I don't use emotion or aesthetics for my choices, I evaluate the design and manufacturing or what I am looking at buying and using every time. Materials are something I try to analyze when I am deciding on things, too. I don't care about how the paint matches things, just its finish machining being correct and executed right. I am not a data nut though, but I do keep a riders diary and look back at the numbers and my body/health statistics regularly. I have a Machinery's Handbook nearby and I always find myself checking the metal and Carbon Fibre analysis there as well as bolt specifications and threading machining data.

Any others like this? I know we have several other engineers as 50+ members but not in any detail or what disciplines are represented here. Tell us how your background and engineering discipline have shaped your cycling, please.

Bill, the Hairy Eared Engineer Club member.
    "I Can Do All Things Through Christ Who Strengthens Me" Philippians 4:13

"We can't control that we have Parkinson's, but we can control how we live with Parkinson's" Davis Phinney

My Bikes
    1972 Schwinn Super Sport, 1983 Trek 600, 1985 Trek 660, 197? Holdsworth Mistral, 1995 Trek 800 mountain bike, 2013 Jamis Coda Comp, 2013 Specialized Crosstrack.
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)