Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    Trek 5500
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Handling Question !

I am relatively new to road biking biking in general for that matter and I am no young flatbelly. I purchased a bike, that with a few upgrades, is in the $1500 price range. Im not going to mention the brand, because I dont want this to go in that direction. Im convinced that several manufacturers sell bikes of virtually equal quality in each price range.

With that backdrop, I believe I am progressing at a good rate. My skills increase with each ride which now average about 30 miles, three times per week and a few more turns on a trainer. The area, which gives me some concern, is this: I can go along with both hands somewhere on the bars with very good control. HOWEVER, when I remove one hand, things get a bit dicey. (For example, going for a frame mount water bottle is something I do only in total isolation).

The reason for my concern is that I keep thinking perhaps its not me but the setup or perhaps even components. A few basics which may be pertinent:

Total bike weigh before saddle bag 18.5
    Tire size 700x23
    Handlebars 40 Bontrager Race Lite Flattop
    Frame size 52
    Tires Conti GP3000
    Fork Carbon

The bike has a flip-flop stem, which allows for setting the bars slightly higher - which is the case in my setup. Wheels are medium light rider weight about 155. Saddle is positioned at a fraction above bar height and about I rear of center.

Basically my question is does good handling come just through practice, or based on the limited information I have supplied, is there something in the setup which might contribute to my problem? Could the upward slant of the stem contribute to poor handling as opposed to being flat?

My Bikes
    Fuji Roubaix, Trek 7200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)