Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How long to warm up?

The older I get (64) it seems a good warm up gets more difficult. Of course warm weather helps, but even then there is the problem of getting that "second wnd" which comes after the heart rate and breathing goes up for a while. A good riding friend told me if he is expecting a spirited ride, and he has time, he will pedal over to a moderate to tough hill, climb it, and pedal back. He said he is then ready for the ride even if it starts off fairly fast. Maybe that is what I need to do, but looking for oher tips.
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

My Bikes
    '09 Trek 2.1, '75 Sekine, '90 Giant Mtb, Raleigh M20, Fuji Nevada mtb.
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    I seem to need about 2 miles or so before I get into the groove, and about 8 miles out I'm cruising nicely. My ride starts out with very short hills and pushing on those just wrecks me, heart is pounding, legs jello, no wind, and I just want to turn around and go home.
    "Of course you eat too much" (Looigi) There are things people say that are so true you can never forget the wisdom. I still eat too much. Without denial.
    Awarded 2014 Billy Madison "Ultimate Insult" by jsharr. Must have been something about my rambling, incoherent response...

My Bikes
    Too many
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    About 15 miles to really warm up in this weather for a hard effort unless there is a nice climb.

My Bikes
    Trek 8.4DS
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Between two and three and a half miles most days. 66 years old here and I am "stiff" for the first couple of miles. Once I settle into a pace after the mild stiffness goes away and loosen up I am good for 20 ~ 30 miles.

My Bikes
    '83 Trek 970 road --- '86 Trek 500 road