User Tag List

My Bikes
    Trek 7.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A few newbie questions

I am a serious newbie to riding. I'm 54 and purchased my first bike about 4 months ago. I'm riding a Trek 7.1 hybrid bike.

1. I've worked my way up to 1 and 2 hour rides. I find that after a while my right hand starts to tingle and will sort of get numb. I wear some mountain biking gloves but the padding on them is obviously not helping. Right now I try changing the position of my hand as often as possible. Any suggestions to keep my hand from getting numb? I've seen in other posts that this is not an uncommon problem.

2. I get the impression that my cheek bones are supposed to be positioned on the widest part of the saddle. I find myself always sliding more towards the front. Should the front of the saddle be adjusted up to keep my butt in place better?

3. Now for the really bad questions. Remember I've only been on the bike for a couple of months. I've encountered my first couple of flats. Thankfully I had stopped off at the bike shop for a quick tutorial on how to get the tire/tube off. Even though I carry a spare I thought the best idea was to patch the existing tube until it didn't last any longer. My first patch job was with a self sticking patch. It went flat again a few days later and I replaced the tube. A week later the other tire ended up with a hole. Now for my newbie questions. Do you patch a tube empty, partially full or quite full? I picked up a different patch kit that uses a separate tube of glue. These patches are sandwiched between a piece of paper and some clear plastic. The patch itself is an orange circle with a smaller black circle in the middle. The patch instructions were not very clear. As much as I'm embarrassed to ask, which side of the patch is applied to the tube? I applied the orange side and it seems to be holding. In retrospect I wondered if the black should have been applied and the orange peeled away.