Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

PCad TKR Update

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

PCad TKR Update

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-14, 06:10 AM
Peloton Shelter Dog

Bikes: 2017 Scott Foil, 2016 Scott Addict SL, 2018 Santa Cruz Blur CC MTB

Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1142 Post(s)
Liked 28 Times in 22 Posts
PCad TKR Update

Can't find the original thread about my total knee replacement operation (TKR) on August 6th, so I started a new one. I'm 56 (I turn 57 in early November), long time cyclist, many years of amateur racing, 7-14K miles annually for the better part of 25 years now. 6 weeks post op as of today. My range of motion is about 5º-100º, and as of last Friday I started riding the exercise bike indoors. Takes me 5+ minutes of rocking my legs back and forth until I can get it round the full crank rotation, but on Sunday I actually spun outside on my road bicycle for 20 minutes in the 39 x 25. Still tough however, I'm on the trainer every day for 20 mins or so. Hoping it loosens up enough for me to try the actual road bike within the next 7-10 days, it should. Pain levels and swelling/edema are dropping, still hurts pretty good sometimes.

One complication has been an exacerbation of an existing circulation issue in the right leg, my venous stasis wound condition is back (google it). Not that bad, but still very painful at times. Saw my vascular surgeon, he said that would PROBABLY clear up when the swelling/edema (fluid retention) in the leg abates, that can take 4-6 months after a TKR, so he said be patient. He didn't even want to ultrasound the veins in the leg because he thinks anything he might surgically approach now will just clear up in a couple of months anyway.