pan y agua
Join Date: Aug 2005
Bikes: Wilier Zero 7; Merlin Extralight; Co-Motion Robusta; Schwinn Paramount; Motobecane Phantom Cross; Cervelo P2; Motebecane Ti Fly 29er; Calfee Dragonfly Tandem
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Originally Posted by asgelle
Even with the 3 km rule, a rider has to finish legally. The rule just means he won't lose time.
asgelle, I think for once you're wrong on a rule question.
U.C.I. 26.027 states in pertinant part:
"If as the result of a duly noted fall in the last 3 kilometers, a rider cannot cross the finishing line he shall be placed last in the stage and credited with the time of the rider or riders in whose company he was riding at the time of the accident"
Thus, to the extent the UCI rule governs, you would not not be DQ'd from a disabling injury in the last 3km of the final stage.
You could fall off a cliff and die.
You could get lost and die.
You could hit a tree and die.
OR YOU COULD STAY HOME AND FALL OFF THE COUCH AND DIE.