Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Demoed both a 29er and 26" full supension bike

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-10, 08:26 PM

Bikes: 2009 Trek EX Fuel 9.8

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey everyone I justed wanted to share my latest experience of demoing a 29er vs a 26" full suspension bike. I haven't posted much but for some of you that have seen some of my post you already know that I'm relatively new to the mountain bike seen. I live in the greater Cleveland Ohio area so we don't have allot of huge hills compared to other areas. I have been looking to buy my first real mountain bike for sometime and have been asking a lot of questions of what to get, and whether I should get a 29er or a 26" full suspension bike. So for the past two weekends I have been able to demo both a 29er and a 26" full suspension bike.

The first bike I tried was the Specialized Camber Elite. This bike was really nice and comfortable to ride. It was the first 29er I have ever ridden so I don't have much to compare it to. I loved the way it it rolled over large roots logs and rocks with very little effort. It also was quite nimble for being a larger bike. The only difficulties that I had was trying to accelerate out of a tight turn or after riding over a large obstacle. Also I had some troubles climbing the larger hills. I'm not sure if that was do to the fact that I was already tired or that I was just using regular pedals in which my feet kept slipping off.