Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

newbie here looking to get into cycling

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-12, 03:32 PM
Banned.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

hey ive been searching for a fun activity that i enjoy and will help with my weight loss goals, so im looking into cycling. Im 6' and currently weigh in at 430lbs. How do i start cycling to lose weight? The problem is i feel embarressed to go outside and ride a bike....
Old 08-16-12, 03:41 PM

Bikes: GT Zum 2012, Xtracycle Radish 2012

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is an inspiring story of a guy bigger than you. Hope it helps. https://velonews.competitor.com/2012/...r-world_226368
Old 08-16-12, 03:44 PM
Just Keep Pedaling

Bikes: 99 Schwinn Mesa GS MTB, 15 Trek Domane 5.9 Dura-Ace, 17 Trek Emonda SL6 Pro & 18 Bianchi Vigorelli

Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked 67 Times in 34 Posts
Welcome to the Clyde/Athena Forum.

This is a great place to get started. Some here have some truly inspirational stories.

Might I suggest reading the "New Embarrassed Rider" thread https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread...arrassed-rider

And the sticky thread ... scroll down to the area on bike buying...lots of links to good info there: https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread...tickies-linked

How long has it been since you rode a bike? What type of riding to you hope to do (road, dirt trails, multi-use paths, crushed rock trails etc).
Old 08-16-12, 05:15 PM
Banned.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
a clyde looking for a road bike