Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Getting back into Bicycling

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-05, 03:44 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,

I haven't owned a bike since my red and yellow Schwinn Stingray back in 1979, a sweet ride. Was biking leisurely on vacation last summer, enjoyed it, and am looking to buy a bike to tool around town (Manhattan). I have no interest in breaking any land speed records and would more likely be smoking a cigarette on my bike than breaking a sweat. I'm an architect, so design is important to me. I am fairly averse to buying things that are not designed with some thought to the aesthetics. Looking at bicycles the ones that caught my eye were the following (in order of appeal):

Kronan
Biomega Amsterdam
Bianchi Milano
Electra Townie

In any case, there seem to be a lot of expertise in this forum, and was hoping to solicicit some advice from anyone willing. The Kronan seems currently unavailable in the US. Looking at the Biomega website, I have a feeling their bikes cost enough to warrant a free Toyota Camry with purchase. This leaves the Bianchi Milano which is a little more than I'd like to spend, but certainly possible. The Electra Townie looks to be a possibility too, although maybe a bit too "cruiser" looking.

In any case does anyone have some advice for me, or other similar suggeestions?

much appreciated.

down wit opp
Old 05-10-05, 03:50 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You might like the Breezers. www.breezerbikes.com
Old 05-10-05, 04:38 PM

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Quoted: 2952 Post(s)