Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Introductions
Reload this Page >

American in UK..sold the car and got a bike

Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-05, 09:14 AM
I'll try anything once!

Bikes: Marin Mill Valley

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi,
I have live here in the UK for 13 years, I have finally changed jobs so that I can commute to my work place. I live in winchester and now commute to Cosham, (near Portsmouth), 44 mile round trip. I am a real newbie to the cycle world but got sick of paying the high price of petrol (gas) here in the UK.

I am 39, I thought this would be the best way to get fit without having to go out after work to try and stay fit...This is my third week and I am learning a lot by trial and error. I hope to keep my commuting miles up and the train rides down.

I am riding on a ebay purchased Marin Mill Valley Hybrid bike, I love it to bits. I am just trying to stay dry and safe....having fun learning too!!!
Old 06-02-05, 09:49 AM
cyclist/gearhead/cycli...

Bikes: Homebuilt tourer/commuter, modified-beyond-recognition 1990 Trek 1100, reasonably stock 2002-ish Gary Fisher Hoo Koo E Koo

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hey, welcome! I'm a grad student in College Park, MD and I commute by bike as well. That's very impressive that you've gone completely car-free. Check out the commuting forum, there's a ton of good advice there.
Old 06-02-05, 10:02 AM
I'll try anything once!

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks, I will check out that section...the petrol prices here are nearly $6.8 per gallon....yikes. I have been finding more time to think about life while riding my bike...sometimes near death experience when crossing roads, but fewer of these mishaps with gained experience.

How the commute at your end?
Old 06-02-05, 10:05 AM
Positio, ergo sum!