Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

Teen Drivers

Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Teen Drivers

Old 06-20-05, 02:38 AM

Bikes: who cares?

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Teen Drivers

Teen drivers seem to be a common factor in many of the latest reports of cyclist fatalities and hazing incidents. Are we not training our teen drivers well enough? Should the driving age be raised to 21? Is this a problem with parenting? Is it a problem with car culture and car advertising? What are the solutions? Discuss.
Old 06-20-05, 03:05 AM
MaNiC!

Bikes: 2004 Cervelo Soloist 105, 2005 Apollo Apex, 2006 SCOTT Speedster S30

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Being a teenage driver myself I feel that I can be one to contribute to this discussion.

I had done probably over 15,000km of cycling before I even got behind the wheel of a car, so I personally knew from experience just what speeding and dangerous driving can do - therefore this prepared me to be a better driver.

There is a ***** load of peer pressure with driving, and even when you are not carrying passengers their minds have been altered into the "must drive fast and show off" theme. I don't know about in the US, but here in NZ we have our graduated driver licencing.
6months on Learner L plates. Cannot drive without a "Supervisor" (has held full licence for 2+yrs)

18months on a restricted. Can drive by themselves between 5am and 10pm and not carry passengers unless they have a "Supervisor". can be reduced to 12months with a defensive driving course (which I found to be completely useless with a BORING AS HELL tutor, but some of the less clued up drivers might get some thought from it)

Can then sit and have Full licence.

Now.. the cars.