Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Jamis Aurora 2005 compared to 2004/2003 ?

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Jamis Aurora 2005 compared to 2004/2003 ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-05, 06:33 AM
My custom user title.

Bikes: 2006 Bianchi Volpe.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
First off I would like to say that I am completely new to these forums, cycling, and the idea of touring.

Other than riding a BMX style bike, I've not cycled at all.

Although I've no experience, I am extremely interested in touring. In fact, I'd be really disappointed in myself if I didn't end up going on a tour, hopefully soon if not eventually.

After doing some searching online, I've become interested in the Jamis Aurora... perhaps because it is a budget bike. With that being said, I was wondering how much "better" the 2005 model is compared to the previous years' models.

Should I spend 400 or so dollars on a used 2003 model, or pay full price for a new 2005, considering that I am just starting out with riding?

Or should I be looking for another brand, instead?

Also, what size frame should I be looking to get?

My measurements are not certain... I am 5'8" to 5'9". My inseam I have not measured, but I wear pants with 30 inseam, which SEEM to fit decently.

From what I've read, 55cm should be my choice, although I am uncertain.

Thanks in advanced.

Last edited by kdos; 07-21-05 at 06:40 AM.
Old 07-21-05, 07:32 AM

Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 10 Posts
I have an older Aurora (don't know the year) but a used model wouldn't be so bad. I'm 5'7 and a 53 was rather large and it really does not fit me but it's ok. I still need a smaller stem and a shorter handlebar but it works alright.