Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Help a Newbie?

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Help a Newbie?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-02, 06:26 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Help a Newbie?

Hey Guys-
My name is Stephen, and I'm new to the biking world (came from the world of motocross). I guess the first thing I need to do to get started is buy a bike. I think I want a hardtail (because my riding is split between trails and street), and I want something that's really well made. I've more or less trashed every bike I've owned because I ride (I guess my crashing is the problem) pretty hard. For example...I bent the forks back to the frame on my dad's Scott hybrid. So...what's the right bike for me? I'm 6'1, 170lbs. I was thinking about a Schwinn (because my dad is more than willing to buy almost any schwinn for me), does Schwinn make any bikes that would suit my needs? I saw a Schwinn Ranger in a bicycle shop yesterday that was only $138 dollars (which seemed ridiculously cheap), is this a good bike? Anybody know anything about it? So what's a well made bike that will be able to work great after four years of hard use? Thanks a lot
-Stephen
Old 08-23-02, 11:26 AM
Wood Licker

Bikes: Trek Fuel EX 8 27.5 +, 2002 Transition Dirtbag, Kona Roast 2002

Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I believe shwinn was bought by a 'big store' and is no longer a good mtb. I remember hearing that. I would go with specialized, norco, or Giant. I would include Kona in there but they may not be in your area.