Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

I have a question about wildlife...

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-05, 09:28 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Im new to mountain biking. I live in Calgary Alberta and I bike singletrack in Fish Creek Park. Its the largest natural park within a city in North America, because of this their is lots of wildlife in the park. Their are coyotes, foxes, about a year ago their was a report of a cougar but it was quickly captured and taken out of the area. Now I do not know anything about animals... and I have heard howls of what I think is coyotes (I do not think their are any wolves in the area). My question is what should I do if I encounter a coyote, or a fox or any other animal that could be dangerous? I have seen a fox and they seem nice and red and small an harmless, but as i said I do not know mucha bout animals so any help is appreciated.
Thank You
Old 09-13-05, 11:10 PM
we're all human

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Coyotes periodically roam through my neighborhood due to the development around it. Coyotes are naturally afraid of people, but if one comes for you don't run and put your bike inbetween you and the coyote. That way you can knock the coyote back if it attacks, and you have a barrier. I have also encountered bears and bobcats camping. It was only a black bear and you just have to leave them be. Bobcats are a little more dangerous but its the same with coyotes get your bike between you and the cougar. You cannot out run/peddle (maybe dh) a cougar so your best bet is if you see one is avoid it and and if you get attacked dont show fear and protect yourself with your bike.
Old 09-14-05, 05:35 AM

Bikes: Proflex 855