Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Can you recommend a lock?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-05, 09:06 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello! I'm new to biking and need to get a lock. I read the Kryptonite posts in this forum, so I know I don't want the lock you can pick with a Bic -- but beyond that I'm clueless. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 09-27-05, 09:19 AM
Wheelie

Bikes: Orbit tourer, Revolution MB, Anon Hack, Raleigh St(Thr)owaway folder

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just went through the hunt for a good lock last week and mail-ordered an Onguard Pitbull Mini DT yesterday. Small, relatively light (~2lb) and the DT version has a cable with it. £22UK (US$30?) As far as I can tell it's about second in security to the Kryptonite New Yorker (in D locks). I bought it to share between my MTB and road bikes. It arrived this morning and I think it was the right choice. Better than my old Bic-able D-locks for carrying - can just get it in a (large) under-seat bag.

And I don't work for them!
Old 09-27-05, 10:13 AM
No longer in Wimbledon...

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Kryptonite problems were addressed a long time ago- those posts only really apply to older existing owners. Kryptonite, On Guard, Abus all make decent locks. D-locks are generally stronger and easier to carry than cable locks.

Other than that, the specific lock choice is going to be influenced by how much your bike is worth to you and what sort of areas you store it in.
Old 09-27-05, 11:16 AM
Wheelie

Bikes: Orbit tourer, Revolution MB, Anon Hack, Raleigh St(Thr)owaway folder

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by womble