Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Best clipless cycling shoe for touring?

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Best clipless cycling shoe for touring?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-06, 11:21 AM

Bikes: Trek 7300FX, Lemond Sarthe

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm planning to buy a new pair of cycling shoes this year and would appreciate any suggestions/advise anyone has. I've been using Specialized Rockhoppers for the last 5-6 years with Time ATAC peddles and they have been ok, but these shoes have softened up a lot and I'm looking for a new pair to use with some Speedplay Frogs with the Speedplay G3 cleat (compatable with SPD, SPD-R Shimano cleat mounting holes).

I'm looking for a pair of shoes that are walkable, i.e. have a recessed cleat mount (as do most MTB shoes), but I also would like something reasonably stiff for good road cycling performance. By walkable I mean casual strolling about town a bit, not hiking any distance. I don't have a strong preference between laces, velcro straps or combinations. Some suggestions so far have been the Shimano SH-MT20D, SH-MT40 or SH-RT50 but I don't know any thing about them, other than what is on the Shimano web-site.
Old 01-29-06, 01:33 PM
Crossfit

Bikes: '05 Trek 520, Specialized Rockhopper, Litespeed Arenberg, Hurricane Force 4 Tri-bike

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts