Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Sugino Crank Question

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Sugino Crank Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-06, 09:02 AM
Bring That Beat Back

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can anyone tell me what the difference is between these two cranks?

XD300
XD600

The only thing I see is the weight difference, which I'm not too concerned with since this is going on my LHT (mainly commuting) rig.

Thanks
Old 02-21-06, 09:14 AM
The Rock Cycle

Bikes: Salsa Vaya Ti, Specialized Ruby, Gunnar Sport, Motobecane Fantom CXX, Jamis Dragon, Novara Randonee x2

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 6 Posts
I'm not a bike mechanic, nor do I play one on tv.....but

I just got a set of the XD600 cranks and it looked to me that the XD600 has aluminum chainrings, and the other model has steel chainrings.

Mine are going on a Surly Pacer commuter.
Novara Randonee x2
Motobecane Fantom CXX
Jamis Dakar XCR
Old 02-21-06, 09:15 AM
RidesOldTrek

Bikes: 2018 Velo Orange Campeur, 1976 Trek TX-500, 1990 Bridgestone MB-3, 1983 Trek 500

Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 23 Times in 9 Posts
The 300 list steel chainrings, the 600 lists aluminum. The copy on the 300 says it is the same crank forging as the 600 - picture looks different, but that's not always reliable. Steel rings should be less prone to wear than the aluminum. Aluminum typically looks better, but once they get dirty in commuting, who can tell? If you don't care - go for the steel, looks like a nice crank. I have a 30 year old forged Sugino - great crank, still going strong.
Old 02-21-06, 09:23 AM
Bring That Beat Back

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts