Search
Notices
Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area Looking to enter into the realm of track racing? Want to share your experiences and tactics for riding on a velodrome? The Track Cycling forums is for you! Come in and discuss training/racing, equipment, and current track cycling events.

Being good to my perenium

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-06, 02:50 PM
如果你能讀了這個你講中文

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Being good to my perenium

I'm quite new to the track, and I had some major crotchal issues this past saturday at the Kissena instructional session. On my Soma, I normally have a brooks b17, rising stem, bullhorns and 47x17. Comfy. When it morphs into track form however, it has a really uncomfortable Avenir saddle, drops, flipped rising stem and 47x14.

Which of the following will do the most good for my nether region area between the boys and the void?
-Cycling shorts (probably better for the boys than the perrenium, right?)
-Cutaway saddle (which one?)
-Tilting saddle downwards?
Old 05-08-06, 03:27 PM
spinlikehell

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hard to say exactly as everyone has different, er, needs in that area, but a coupla points:

- I'd say a definite yes to proper cycling shorts. I use Assos and De Marchi ones and like em both, plus cheapies that come with the team kit. You're generally not riding for long periods on the track, but proper shorts can still stop things getting pinched / rucked up etc

- Why did you flip yr stem over for the track?? If its more comfy for you on the road rising upwards, then I'd suggest leaving it that way on the track. You're already effectively lowering yr bar height by maybe 8-10cm by moving to drops from bullhorns.