Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Triathlon
Reload this Page >

Tri clothing for women?

Search
Notices
Triathlon Swim / Bike / Run your thing? Drop in our new triathlon forum for the latest in training & gear. From beginner to expert, and sprint to ironman.

Tri clothing for women?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-06, 09:51 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tri clothing for women?

I'm new to triathlons (did one 2 years ago and didn't know what to do then either) and am trying to figure out what clothing women wear or what are the options?

I'm more interested in how a tri suit (either one piece or two piece) works when running? I.e. does the suit act as a sports bra also - is it that supportive/tight/fit in order to do that during the run? If the suit does that, then what to wear biking and running makes sense to me (bike jersey then running shorts for the run)...otherwise it seems you need to put a sports bra on for the other events after the swimming event.

Thanks for any help/comments/suggestions!
Old 06-05-06, 11:03 AM
Poseuse.

Bikes: giant ocr3, adapted to triathlon as best it can be. 1976 kia "star" women's "racing" (soon to be a beater commuter bike, it's brown!)

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Heya, there are two recent-ish threads about this in the women's forum, too. It's a hard call because people feel more comfortable and troll-free about omgzwomenhaveboobies over there, but tri-specific should be over here! I'm going to copy-paste, and you could PM Koffee Brown to get into the "Ladies' Room"....

"I started out with a combo of various options, but came down to a one-piece tri suit with bike shorts, and a quick-drying actual triathlon sports bra under. Yes, it's compression-only, but if you're doing a 1/2 IM, you want the durn thing to dry before the run so you're not chafing. Try everything on for chafing possibilities, and stock up on a lovely product called BodyGlide.

Anyway, links to what I wear :