Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Cyclocross Vs Mtn Bike

Old 07-04-06, 08:33 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cyclocross Vs Mtn Bike

Hey guys, I'm new to to the cycling world and I'm trying to figure out whether I should get a cyclocross or a mtn bike. I'll be riding daily, probably in the evenings after work around town which wouldn't require a mountain bike but I'd like to hit some trails on the weekends or join a cycling club that rides trails (probably once a week). After going around to the bike shops I decided that - I love the lighter, faster feel of the cyclocrosses, Im a girl with a thin/athletic build so I felt much more in control and fluid on the cyclocrosses, -Shocks on the mountain bikes made rough terrain SO much better, but again they're kind of bulky.

So basically I was hoping if you guys could tell me how well cyclocrosses handle on rough terrain. I definitely liked them better for street riding (obviously) but I can't afford two bikes and I don't want to buy a bike I can't take on too many trails. Im in good shape but since Im a newbie I wont be tackling anything too crazy. Will riding a cyclocross be too rough if I'm out there for 2 or more hours? Or are there some lighter versions of mountain bikes? Do you guys reccomend any specific models? I'd appreciate the help, since some of your posts are pretty much a foreign language to me I know I sound pretty novice but I'd really like some input. Thanks!
Old 07-05-06, 11:33 AM
Get the stick.

Bikes: 12 Y.O. Litespeed MTB, IRO Jamie Roy fixie, Custom Habanero Ti 'Cross, No name SS MTB, Old school lugged steel track bike (soon)

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post