Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Kona King or Trek Fuel 9

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Kona King or Trek Fuel 9

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-06, 12:30 PM

Bikes: '06 Fuel EX 8, '01 GT Rebound

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kona King or Trek Fuel 9

I see a lot questions like this on here, but a lot of great anwers, so I thought I would give it a try.

I'm just getting into mountain biking, and am looking to buy a new bike. Just getting started, it is easy to gravitate towards some of the "big" names, like Trek or Specialized.

Right now I am riding a GT Rebound, which I purchased about 5-6 years, and haven't really ridden it until this year.

My price range is $2000-$3000.

The first bike I was looking at is the Trek Fuel, more specifically the 9. But now I've also taken a look at a Marin and the Kona King.

I'm sure all of these bikes are good and they will get the job done, but I'm wondering if anyone can point out any negatives? I know nothing of the Marin or Kona brands.

I've shyed away from the Marin as the LBS told me the 15.5" that they had in stock would be large enough. I would just have to raise the seat. Seeing that now I ride a 20", I think he was just trying to make a sale.

Any opinions are appreciated.
Old 07-18-06, 02:00 PM
djentleman

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked 102 Times in 66 Posts
I would take the Trek, however I really like that the Kona has Fox suspension. I dont know much about the RS Reba.
Old 07-18-06, 05:39 PM
djentleman

29 viewers and no other opinions?
Old 07-18-06, 05:48 PM
Eat my Dust... n00bs

Bikes: Kona Cinder Cone 2006

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Tuttster