Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Bicycle touring - pannier bag design

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-06, 11:32 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am an industrial design student in Australia & am currently designing bags for bicycle riders. I wanted to design 2 different bags... namely 1 to suit the bicycle tourer market & the other to suit an urban bicycle commuter.

The urban commuter I am fine with, as they're easier to access, but the tourer is another kettle of fish. I have found information as to what you guys need to carry on the road, however, I don't what your routine is. What I need to know is:

*What's the preference to most tourers these days - trailer or pannier bags? Eg. 25% trailer / 75% pannier bags.
*What's the most popular brand of pannier bag & what features do you look for when purchasing a pair?
*How often do you need to take your bags off your bike - do you take them off when you lock your bike up?
*What do you do about locking your bike / gear up when you leave your camp?
*When you leave your camp do you usually have another bag to take all your important items with you or do you just carry stuff in your pockets?

Any suggested links or sites would also be a real help.
Old 07-27-06, 07:47 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
[QUOTE=bike_bag_design]
Originally Posted by bike_bag_design
*What's the preference to most tourers these days - trailer or pannier bags? Eg. 25% trailer / 75% pannier bags.
I'd guess that that is pretty accurate.
*What's the most popular brand of pannier bag & what features do you look for when purchasing a pair?