Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Flat Bar vs. Drop Bar (Forgive me!)

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-06, 01:01 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi...newbie here.

Just getting back into cycling after a long absence. Currently riding a neighbor's hybrid until I get my own bike. I live in an urban area, and most of my rides are on city streets (meaning, lots of traffic signals and stop signs).

I've lurked here for a while, and read what I can find on flat bars vs. drop bars, but i have a specific quesiton if you don't mind. Would a flat bar be a better fit for me, given the amount of stops I make on a given ride? I don't do many hills, and i don't ride out in the countryside, and i don't anticipate doing much of that anyway. I'm happy doing 5-25 mile rides.

I've heard the argument about more hand positions, but is that argument relevent to someone with my riding habits? I like the hybrid I'm on, like the upright position, etc. but -- if a relaxed geometry road bike with drop bars is a better idea, then I'll go that way.

I guess the question is whether a flat bar is a better choice for a short-to-medium distance urban rider with the usual bad back problems of someone our age!

thanks in advance!

JimBob Jr.
Old 08-09-06, 01:15 PM
Banned

Bikes: Ellsworth Id

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
its a question thats come up for me too many times...but for the type of asphalt riding i do, 45km daily commutes and weekend rides in cow country, i've done away with my drop bars...a few hours locked into a cramped position, with my nose pointing at my front wheel was no fun